For the record, Borem and Hoffman finished their build in an eye-popping 16 minutes and 25 seconds. The post-race teardown revealed a totally clean build with no penalties. That time trumped their record-setting semifinal time of 16 minutes and 37 seconds, an equally flawless performance.

Even though the PME team was finished, Team Hendrick never broke pace and continued to assemble their engine. They fired it up midway through the 16-minute mark, much to the delight of the crowd and their fellow competitors. The motor never faltered and their post-race teardown also showed a flawless build, but theirs took 17 minutes and 47 seconds to complete. In itself, that time is lightning fast, but on this day the PME team of Borem and Hoffman was quicker.

Both Borem and Hoffman have more than 20 years of motor building experience. Borem has been with Pro Motor for 22 years while teammate Hoffman has only been with the company for four years.

In last year's competition they finished second to the Hendrick Motorsports team of Shane Parsnow and Mike Maiwald. During that competition, Parsnow, who was battling the flu, and Maiwald set a then record of 16 minutes and 54 seconds. The competition in this year's Showdown was so fierce that Parsnow and Maiwald didn't even make it past the quarterfinals.

For their efforts, Dennis Borem and Darrell Hoffman walked away with the top prize of $26,000 and the Randy Dorton Memorial Trophy. They'll be back next year to defend their title, and you can bet that the teams they beat will be gunning to knock down that record-setting time of 16:25.

Teams of two engine builders from Pro Motor Engineering and Hendrick Motorsports square off in the finals of the 2007 Mahle Clevite Engine Builder Showdown.